UnBoxing 8K+ and a mini review

I just got my 8K + and will share an UnBoxing and “mini review” with you, as soon as I am ready (later tonight).

PiMax also added some situation aware extras :slight_smile: more will folow later (my kids want to enjoy the good weather outside a bit…)

Edit:
Here is the Video - sorry its bad Quality, I am not a pro in doing that and the equipment as the rest show that - so sorry - also I normally do Screen Cast kind of stuff - but I had to quickly do some workarounds with OBS that I normally dont use - the sound sucks badly. Forgive me, and just stop if cant take it any more :wink:

EDIT 2:
the “new” Power Plug (Oval) v.s. the old:

25 Likes

Congratulations and looking forward to your impressions :slight_smile:

1 Like

Thank you for sharing. Hope you enjoy your shiny new 8K+ The packaging looks much improved.

2 Likes

Hi. Did you get charged import duty if you don’t mind me asking?

2 Likes

Hi and thanks :-).
I am just running through a couple of games - Alyx looks great - if you get the settings right - first try was bad, then I just went for the “Alyx” Settings from Pitool and it was much better - need to add the none optimizing parameters - its a pain if you are near 90hz and keep droping to 88 shortly and the game looks bad all the sudden.
Packaging is much better. Also the Velcro got improved, its wider (the straps) then before - still cant wait for the real head strap.
I did not get charged any thing as far as I can see - nothing from FedEx in my Mail or from the man at the door.

I will go through a couple of games (just doing that) and report back every 15 Minutes or so…

9 Likes

So in short as far as I got until now - its very nice to have less SDE - for me its a bit more immersion just by that then with the 5K+.
I have to fit the HMD to my Head again - some tweaking to get the sweet spot right.