New Offset to fix in Piserver.exe for LukeRoss mods as well as other apps (such as Open XR Toolkit)

Luke Ross updated the hex to edit for PiServer.exe for PiTool version .277

Remember to backup your file in case you edit the wrong hex.
I used HxD as my hex-editor
Run HxD as an administrator.
The Piserver.exe is located in :
Again Credit and thanks to Luke Ross for his support.

5 Likes

What does this do/enable? Thanks.

3 Likes

PiServer has a minor bug causing 2D overlay elements to have a small black line that should be transparent. It’s most evident in Luke Ross mods, but also in OpenXRToolkit. I wouldn’t do it if it doesn’t bother you anywhere.

is this new?or the old one from last change?
edit:nvm its the .277,i wonder if the new beta update breaks it again tho .

I have been using piToolV275 for several months and have observed black lines when using OpenXRToolkit for the past few days.
The lines were very thin vertical lines less than 1 pixel long and appeared one on each side of the screen.
I have the impression that the edges of the window for FPS and other overlays are being drawn incorrectly.

If this is a drawing bug in PiServer.exe, it is a problem that should be fixed officially.
I would like to try this fix to see if it works in my environment.

2 Likes

It should but the offset may be different for .279

I forget now where the offset was for .275

1 Like

Update Mar 20: If you’re a Pimax user and want to get rid of the black hairline on the left and right sides of the HUD, AND you feel comfortable with hex editors like HxD , you can patch the pi_server.exe file yourself: while PiTool 1.0.1.275 is not running, just modify the byte at offset C97CB from 04 to 03 and save the file. Please only attempt this if you know what you’re doing, otherwise you run the risk of breaking your Pimax software installation.

Theres the one for .275

1 Like