Your Real IPD with Pimax HMD after a lot of work. Future of eyetracking

I don’t want to get too long on this, so I’m going to explain it quickly. And excuse my English.

As a developer I have been working a lot on the subject of lenses in all VR glasses. And I have been very interested in varifocal technology (which has points related to what I am going to explain).

Contrary to what many believe, people do not have a single IPD. We have a range. This generally goes between NEAR IPD (reading a book) and FAR IPD (seeing a landscape). Among them we have a full range of IPDs, like the Computer IPD (closer to near than to far). Optometrists usually only give the maximum range, but not the intermediate ones.

The IPD is totally related to the real sense of depth and presence. For example, if we use the NEAR IPD in VR, we will see close objects with the depth that they have in the real world, but we will see they flat and closer to what they should be.

If we use the FAR IPD (as is usually done) we will see the nearby objects flatter than they should be and somewhat distant, but we will see the three-dimensional backgrounds and in place.

Some professionals start using VR IPD. This is located 3 meters in front of the user, since 90% of VR games require room escape with spaces that make you fixate on targets at that distance.

For example, my IPDs are:
FAR IPD: 68.5mm (inifinite)
NEAR IPD: 66.2mm (30cm)
VR IPD: 67.5mm (2-3 meters)

Once you feel that you really have your IPD well configured you feel the depth of the 3D just like in the real world, but only in that distance (far/near). That is why I use different IPDs depending on the game. For open world games I use 68.5mm. For games where I manipulate objects all the time I use 66.2mm. And for generic games I use 67.5mm.

The eyes move between these IPDs to simulate depth in the real world, which is not the case in VR.