Please, I'm asking for help with my 8k +

Hello. I’m new to VR and psyched about my 8k +. However, I’m having a hard time with the hardware.

1. SteamVR cannot find headset. I have the new Valve 2.0s.
  2. The pitool with the base stations identified cannot find headset.
    It’s also giving me 3 messages.
    LHR detection LHR undetected please cont. tech supp
    Sensor detection abnormal please cont. tech supp
    Profile detection abnormal calibration data pls cont t.s.
  3. There is no place in pitool to run this with no base stations.

If someone could please shed some light on these challenges, I’d greatly appreciate it. I thought I’d be running today but . . .

Thank you very much.

Bryan

2 Likes

Hi Bryan have you tried plugging your headset into a different display port + changing USB ports. And reboot your machine every time you change something.

1 Like

Windows itself doesn’t seem to think the headset is connected at all via usb.

To turn off lighthouse tracking from the HMD section uncheck the lighthouse tracking but toggling this setting will likely have no effect because the headset itself isn’t detected.

You could re-seat the cable coming into the headset. At the point where the cable mates to the headset push the cable firmly into the headset. The connector should be flush with the headset edges where the cable comes in. (this is my guess what the issue is).

3 Likes

Do you get any error codes in pitool?

3 Likes

There is a page in pitools where directly on top it says Lighthouse and 9-axis. Unselect lighthouse and select 9-axis and it will use the internal gyro for tracking only.

Sometimes i have to simply unplug and replug the power supply (i think the 8k+ has still one) to give the hmd a kind of hard reset. Check the pitool error link on the status page for error help.

4 Likes