My first try to ever put on an 8KX, and…

I didn’t actually experienced the VR world with it, I only tried to put it on and see how it feels like. It seems a little heavy for me(maybe I have a small head :rofl:) because I am not used to wear it yet, this is my very first time to ever wear a VR headset. How do you handle it, by the way?

21 Likes

Congrats! The first time I tried VR many years ago it blew my mind.

For best comfort with a smaller head you might tighten the back knob a bit to put more force on the pad in the back of your head.

When calibrating the visuals it’s important to get the right IPD setting and the correct position of the headset on your head.

Once you get it set 100% you will have an experience you will always remember!

11 Likes

It’s not just the weight; the headset is front-heavy. Try attaching a counterweight to the back. Yes, it will weigh more, but it won’t strain your neck muscles nearly as much.

For my 8K, I taped a couple of small steel wrenches together and used double sided velcro to attach it to the back of the standard cloth strap. I used about 312g / 11.1 oz (that’s half the weight of the headset w/o the cable) and for the velcro, I used the loop which secured the Pimax cable for shipping.

This was a quick and dirty “temporary” solution, which has worked so well, I’ve been using it for a year and a half.

10 Likes

A lot of VR headsets are heavy including the Valve Index. But the Pimax 8KX is even heavier than the Index.

2 Likes

Wow, thanks,that sounds very helpful! Let me try it again! :star_struck:

3 Likes

Oh, thank you for informing me that. :wink:Have you tried both the 8KX and the Index ?

1 Like

No, I don’t have my 8KX yet. MRTV did a video comparing the weight of different headsets and that’s how I know 8KX will be heavier.

2 Likes

This idea is brilliant! You are a genius!

5 Likes

I see. So you are still waiting for your 8KX?

2 Likes