Half Life Alyx - 8KX

I’m an old school gamer who loved Half Life and was completely blown away by it. Half Life 2 came out and it was phenomenal. The physics, action, story, everything was incredible. I enjoyed the episodes as well. When Alyx was announced as a VR game, I was absolutely ecstatic. When it came out I started playing on my 5K+, expecting the 8KX to come out shortly after the launch (it had been delayed as everyone knows since January). I played through to what I assume is about half way thru the game. At that point I decided to go no further and wait for the 8KX to enjoy every bit of the game in glorious 4K resolution. So I patiently and painfully waited to play Half Life Alyx for days. Then weeks. Then months. Finally in September, I received my 8KX. I could have jumped back into the game but at this point the 3000 series cards were about to be released and I had planned to upgrade this year. I decided that since I’d already waited since March to play Alyx, it didn’t matter much to wait another couple weeks. I recently got my 3090 and got everything set up. I started the game from the very beginning, but this time using my old Subpac with a new APT-X receiver and a USB transmitter I got from amazon.

HOLY $H1TB4LL$ :open_mouth::open_mouth::open_mouth::open_mouth: It is AMAZING. Just amazing. I’m playing it at 1.5 in PiTool, and the level of detail is just incredible. I’ve been absolutely blown away. Since I’ve owned VR (Kickstarter Oculus, Vive, 5K+) I’ve enjoyed many VR experiences, but never quite experienced something so immersive as Half Life Alyx with the 8KX. My girlfriend said it just means that everything has been worth it (pc upgrades, 8KX, 3090,etc). I agreed. The Subpac is adding a fantastic enhancement to the game, as you feel the shots, hits, music, and explosions. If you own one, definitely try it out.