8KX Cooling Fan - Work in Progress

After a long 2.5 hour mission in DCS with my squad and 8KX, I found my glasses and lenses on the verge of fogging and my face was very warm. I know there are fan mods out there that blow air around your forehead but they do not provide airflow inside. I have been flying FPV RC for many years now and my Fatshark FPV goggles have a nice little fan the gently flows air inside the goggles for those warm, outside flights. They work very well and are very quiet.

So I started looking for a way to provide the same type of airflow to my 8KX and found the comfort kit faceplate has a little vent that was taped up (for light leaks I guess). I tried to get the same fans that the Fatshark goggles had but could not find replacements but found something close on Amazon. Little 20mm fans that use up to 5 volts (5 volt max!) so I ordered them along with a side type fan. I ended up throwing together a 3D printed design that would fit in my DAS and flow air through the little vent. I cut out the vent opening and used a single cell lipo (3.7 volts) to test it out. It seems to work very well so far with a very gentle airflow over the lenses and out the foam cut outs for the glasses. You can barely hear it and it is all very light. My next step is I ordered the FatShark replacement On/Off switch and I will pull power (5 volts) from the USB C connector on the bottom. I will let you know how it goes on the next long mission which will be the true test;

6 Likes

Here is the 3d printed air flow chamber with the fan taped on;

9 Likes

Really nice project!

Once you have it completed, it would be amazing if you could share the stl file as well as provide links to the fan and fan to USBC adapter.

1 Like

Uao!! Good, i need it!! Please share info, files ecc. ! Thank you

Hey, that is nice. I was thinking something like this would help more than the fans I stuck on top of the headset, didn’t realize there was a vent there!