SteamVR dongle for Pimax 8KX help

Hi guys;

I am a total amateur it seems. I purchased two dongles like this: SteamVR™ USB Wireless Receiver Dongle for Valve Index™ Controllers and HTC Vive™ Tracker – VRDongles

Is this just plug and play and they should track my knuckles automatically or do I need to set them up somehow?
My tracking is still not good when they are plugged in. Get occasional drift from the left controller only and I read that buying a couple of dongles would solve it.

Any ideas would be greatly appreciated :slight_smile:

You shouldn’t need any dongles, afaik the drifting was only on older 5K+ units but I could be wrong.

Is this your first experience with lighthouse tracking or did you have another headset like a vive/index that worked fine? If it’s your first then there might be something else wrong. Like a reflective surface in your room (like a mirror) that is effecting the LH tracking. Although if it’s the left controller only then that would imply a different issue.

Could you try only connecting the left controller and see if it still happens? Just to make sure it’s a connection bandwidth issue or such and not a defective controller.

Also, just to confirm, did you pair the controllers to the dongles? (You should only need to pair them to a single dongle). If not then they will still be paired to the headset rather than the dongle.

Thanks for the reply :slight_smile:

This is my first experience yes. It’s only on the left controller. I can try what you suggested later on today and thanks for the tip!

I paired the controllers in pitool and they automatically showed up in steamvr. Nothing happened when I plugged in the dongles in USB 2.0. That’s why I thought I am missing a step?