Star Citizen VR general guide with VorpX Desktop (EAC friendly)

Overview:

Sorry if you’ve heard some of this before hehe…

1. Star Citizen is still in alpha and is unoptimised. Native VR is coming eventually but there is nothing official yet. What this does is convert TrackIR inputs to your VR headset. It is not full VR with depth, although Reshade’s stereo Depth3D option may provide a partial solution if it can be made to work alongside VorpX Desktop (tbc). The ideal solution outside of native VR would be the original vorpX app, but this is now blocked by the new Easy Anti-Cheat (EAC) system used by SC.

2. This is my first draft for a general guide and I have no prior VorpX experience. I’ll update this over time as I learn more about optimising the setup. I have only run two full sessions in SC using VXD so far. While it is primarily for Pimax headsets, as that is what I’m currently using, I will generalise as it may ultimately end up in other places such as SC Spectrum or Discord.

3. Some compromise is required but you can have a pretty good experience - I’m using a bordered window for good baseline performance, but it’s large enough. Personally I must have a good stable framerate, and most importantly low GPU and CPU latency, which equals no or minimal stutter. Increased res or quality from there is a bonus.

4. Like most VR sims and space games, a HOTAS or HOSAS makes a huge difference for VR because you can rely far less on finding keys on your keyboard. If you are planning on trying this method without either setup, it will be difficult, although not impossible :slight_smile: