[SOLVED] Worsening HMD detection issues

I have a support ticket open but wanted to see if others are having similar issues where the HMD detection keeps getting worse and worse. This is using a Nvidia gigabyte 2080 Ti on the latest driver.

"I’ve been using the headset for 1-2 months and the last few weeks the detection of the headset has been getting worse and worse.

I’m using Pitooll v1.0.1.95 FW 181. I tried upgrading to the newer firmware (Pitool 1.0.1.109 FW 193) but it doesn’t detect my lighthouse so I went back to FW 181 and uninstalled and reinstalled everything and started working for a few days.

A few days later nothing worked after restarting, replugging the headset, changing USB ports. I tried uninstalling Pitool and removing all the Pitool and Pimas directories under AppData folders. Reinstalled and then disabled the power management and it came up again.

It is getting really annoying having to spend 30-60 mins to get it detected."

1 Like

Did you revert the Nvidia driver? As the newer Nvidia driver is said to be in part why older Pitools where being discontinued. Try installing an earlier version of the Nvidia driver.

417 or older.

Which headset?

sorry for inconvenience,could you open a sup so that to have a good tracking, I will arrange our engineer ASAP.

Yes. I opened a ticket but wanted to see what other things I can possibly try to fix it.

It’s the 5k plus. I regularly game (non VR) so I usually stay up to date on the latest Nvidia driver for the 2080 Ti. I would try the later PiTool with newer firmware but it seems like it has problems tracking the HMD and I never got it to track. It did recognize the HMD just not track so I went back to 181.

1 Like

I need check with our engineer, tell me the sup ID, I’ll push internally.

SUPEN-2807 is the ticket.

Thanks

1 Like

Also in order to get it to detect the HMD I have to continually unplug and plug in the DP.