RTX 3080 - Sparkles on Pimax 8KX with Optical Cable

Have people had good results using the Pimax optical cable with the 8KX on RTX 30 series cards?

I got a Gigabyte Aorus 3080 Master card:
Gigabyte Aorus Master RTX 3080

Using the old style cable directly connected to the GPU, it did work okay. I was able to run 90/75/60Hz. But in my studio, that cable by itself is too short. I have the optical cable, and although that works fine with my 2080Ti, I get sparkles, flashes and artifacts with the 3080 at 75/60Hz and it refuses to show an image at 90Hz at all.

I dont know if its a DisplayPort signal strength issue with that particular card, that model/brand or something that would present with any 3080?

If you are running a 30 series card with the optical cable on your 8KX, let me know which model and brand.

In another forum, some responses indicated there may be more issues with 30 series cards that have more than 4 outputs. Suggesting there could be design considerations with the ones that have 5 or 6 HDMI/DisplayPort outputs and the signal strength from the amplifier(s) on the card.

Thanks!

Update 4/25/21

Thanks for the replies and discussion. For this issue, I do not believe the problem was with the Pimax 8KX headset or cables.

The sparkles presented with that particular 3080 GPU on all the DisplayPort outputs when using the optical cable. But using the same headset and cable with other GPUs and other computers - there were no sparkles or issues.

Indeed, now that I have the Zotac 3090 everything is working fine and the performance is splendid.

6 Likes

Hah, dejavu from the iracing thread :slight_smile:

GeForce RTX™ 3080 VENTUS 3X
Pimax brand optical cable
No sparkles on the 8kx with either cable
Had sparkles on 5k+ with regular cable

2 Likes

Have you tried all 3 of the DisplayPort outputs? I’ve heard that some ports work better than others (for no apparent reason).