Physical sweet spot distance not matching ipd reading. A cause for eyestrain?

I measured the sweet spot distance between the lenses while also setting the pimax to the smallest IPD I can do (60mm software reading) and it comes out to be about 70mm measured with tape.

Usually the sweet spot is supposed to be the dead center of the fresnel lenses from what I have researched. But it seem that since the pimax lenses are at a slight angle it sort of morphs it to the top left of center a tad on left lens, and top right of center on right lens.

I measured that distance between the new sweet spots again and it also physically measured something like 72mm on my flexible tape measure. Im not an expert in how this should be reallyā€¦ but it seems to me that the sweet spot distance should match what the software is reporting?

Could someone please try this test with the dead center of their vive or rift fresnel lenses and see if physical measurement matches the software reading? I dont have a rift and vive anymore to measure it.

Im also wondering why adjusting the ipd seems to offets the image and even mess with the convergence to some extent (which doesnt seem to be the case on the rift and vive)

Ive always felt something felt slightly off with the ipd adjustment, a subtle eye strain that my brain just adjusts to after a few min on any pimax I try,
(think it might be binocular overlap and one eye always gets a blurry object while the other is clear) i have 66ipd, just trying to get to the bottom of it as saw another poster report this too.

Here is his post https://community.openmr.ai/t/5k-causing-significant-eye-strain/11958

Edit: sorry i am half asleep and sort of rambling. Hope this all makes sense, gn

Edit2: Also wanted to point out I really love the headset! I feel maybe these are some really minor things that can actually be improved in software.

6 Likes