New user, question about getting base stations

Hi, I just got my 5k+ and as I’m new to VR I now want to get base stations and controllers too. Question: if I get two HTC Vive base stations and the wand controllers, do I also need the “link box” to connect them all - or is that only needed for the Vive headset?

Thanks!

You don’t need a linkbox.

2 Likes

Ok, great, thanks for the info!

2 Likes

Backer or pre order? :beers::sunglasses::+1::sparkles:

1 Like

How involved is it to get the controllers and/or base stations working with the 5k+?

1 Like

That is an interesting question. Some have an easy plug & play xp while some need to jump through hoops.

In theory though most seem to have ease of setup. But as @PimaxUSA might say that’s anecdotal info as we don’t have the full picture. :beers::smirk::+1::sparkles:

Guessing should be easy to setup from what I have observed in the field.

3 Likes

Pre-order! (First pre-order phase before the first site broke)

2 Likes

I just received a pair of Vive controllers in the mail. I was able to pair them to the 5k+ with no issues through both PiTool and SteamVR, but the only time PiTool sees them is if I enable lighthouses. I don’t currently have any lighthouses for tracking. I assume that they’re required for the controllers to work? :frowning:

1 Like

Yes Unfortunately to track you need lighthouses.

I’m running ok on 1 base station, and thank (insert your favourite deity). Currently looking for vive controllers …thats proving more difficult.

1 Like

I got two on eBay for around $150 shipped.

1 Like

Thats a crazy deal, they are scarce and sell for 180 apiece now (HTC are nuts, the rift controllers are far superior and sell for half the price). Been looking for a week or so.

1 Like