New Headset from Sony

See collaboration Sony and Siemens on CES 2024

but only 90° FoV. It is a just better, up-to-date version of the Hololens, 55ppd is interesting.
Even as a developer I would prefer a broad FoV.
So I still wait for 12KX, but MR-Features would be the killerfeature together with a high res and WIDE FoV.
Still I trust in PIMAX :innocent:

1 Like

We need a 2 inch or more micro OLED for good FOV and they’re still a couple of years away.

This headset is what I thought PSVR2 was going to be. Wireless, Pancake Lenses, Micro OLED.

hehe damm 55 PPD. We’re really getting to the point where it just makes no sense to increase PPD any more. Just like a 4k monitor generally is all you need.

90 deg FoV is kinda sad indeed, I wouldn’t buy such headset. Yet great to see Sony and Siemens, 2 huge players, working together on VR

1 Like

Big players are no reason for success. Siemens invested heavily in Varjo… and failed. I see a similar approach and result to come here. Sad.
Sony may succeed, but only with other product lines, if at all.

1 Like

Definitely true. But in generals big players have much better chances of delivering something good, if it were only because of their deep pockets

It didn´t work out for Varjo, despite the deep pockets and a really long time since first show off. Even from a professional perspective, they failed.

Not sure if I agree on Varjo failing. I’d say a better example would be Panasonic. But anyway, yeah that’s exactly what I said, deep pockets doesn’t equal sure success, but definitely increase the chances. A company like PImax or Somnium just have to settle with a certain lens for example, they just can’t on spending more on other prototypes. For bigger players that’s not really a factor. BTW I wouldn’t even say Varjo is a big player, even if they have backing frome one. Sony, Meta, Samsung, Google, these are the companies I’m talking about. The more companies like that making VR headsets, the better it’s for us.