My Sad Non8KX story

My unofficial “It’s not8KX!” contribution - A Sad Story of Erratic Expectations Shattered and Deceived by Cruel Reality

You can call me Klaus, I’m a tech geek in his mid fifties, so I’ve seen quite a bit technology passing by. I was around when Metabyte released their Wicked 3D Eyescreem glasses for 3dfx Voodoo cards. I was onboard when nvidia bought both technologies and forged it into their 3Dvision drivers. So I not only decided it was a good time to invest into nvidia shares but also got me a second hand HMD with a whooping 480x240 resolution to descent into the mines of Descent. Together with my Elsa Revelator (much smaller IR dongle one and larger glasses than the rebranded H3DMetabyte!) life was good, until my trusted 19” Trinitron CRT Iiyama Pro gave up on me and TFT killed my 3D stereo experience for good. I was a member of various nerdy platforms by then (3D stereoscopic experience required an active community to come even close to being “enjoyable”) but the one I feel worth mentioning in particular was “Meant to Be Seen” (or MTBS) hosted by Neil Schneider and a merry community with some funny guys. One even as bold as having his avatar named like the legendary spirit behind the very first FPS, John Carmack, hahaha…. But, wait…. As it turned out…. And there was the other young guy, Palmer Lucky who set out woht plans hacking 3D goggles together one step ahead. It was nights of excited discussions an even the Oculus name originated there. The reason I decided not to be amongst the ones that jumped on that project was that I had learned I could hardly cope with screen door effect and low resolution looked at through a toilet paper roll. So, I saved for large HFR TFTs, hacked EDIDs, drivers and built DVI sync signal extractors to keep my shutter glasses alive until the HDK2, an open source headset with active support from Valve was released and teased my tinkering soul. I need to say this is still one underrated VR project as it actually