Modes - Extended Mode Features

Hi there,
While waiting for my PiMax to arrive I have been scouring the forums building a better understanding of the PiMax universe.

I read about different modes and how certain things are supported on certain modes. Ideally you can get it to Pimax mode or direct mode for the best compatibility.

I also hear some users with limited hardware or unsupported scenarios where they are stuck in extended mode. I found some useful switching tools but I never found a good description of what you can do in extended mode.

Are there Pimax pi play games for extended mode?
Is extended mode, just like an extended Windows monitor… Like just an additional monitor? Or can you still do VR stuff, specially is there a VR cinema for this mode?

I believe I will be supported in the other modes… But,if one was stuck in extended mode, what can they do?

Also, I am a software developer,
And I heard of an SDK can can’t find it. I would be happy to contribute to the community if there is an SDK an development requests.

Thanks everyone.
Christopher

Please use forum searche, all your qustions have been answered.
The one i don’t recall - in piplay there lots off games for extendet mode, free to dowload and play.

Trust me is hasnt been answered well. I have searched all weekend, and mainly have come across reported issues with the mode. The only slightly helpful content I could find was:

But, this is not the depth of of answer I want. Mainly, is there a virtual cinema… Maxvr player or liveview rift does not seem fully like virtual cinema.

I agree people should search… and I did… but if we get responses like this then when users search that is all they find.

But all that said… I will keep searching in case there is something that I might have missed.

Here are the search results when searching for just ‘extension mode’:

Heyhey :wink: I use Pimax 4K mostly in DIRECT/PIMAX MODE. Which mode to use depends on the apps/games/software/oculus runtime.