Is anyone using the Vive lighthouses and Vive controllers for the Pimax 8K/5K+

I just bought a Vive HMD kit on Ebay with all the base stations and controllers. I am planning on using the base stations and controllers for my Pimax 8K/5K+. I heard this could be done?? I was wondering if anyone is doing this and has any advice for setting everything up. Thanks

2 Likes

Anyone at present using LHes.

I have never used lighthouses (another term for base stations??) in any VR set up. With my PSVR it resourced the camera. All my other HMD’s (Deepoon E3, Pimax 4K, Odyssey+) were strictly gyros inside the headset, so Im a big Noob when it comes to the lighthouses and such. Do you need the Vive lighthouses to operate the Vive controllers?

1 Like

Yes the vive wands track like the headset by reading off the LH lasers.

Any of the Vive tutorials for setting them up will be the same.

V1.0 lighthouses either need to see one another or sync via a cable.

1 Like

Thanks for the quick reply, can always count on you to be in front on the computer to be quick with a response :wink:

1 Like

Your welcome. Though having the forum on my phone helps a lot. To see new posts sooner.

A lot if backers with the headsets here have Vive LHes & can likely offer assistance in getting it uo & running as some have or are experiencing hiccups here & there.

If any of the testers are around are of course another valuable resource. :beers::sunglasses::+1::sparkles:

2 Likes

I have lighthouses and vive wands and will be using them.

1 Like

Using 1.0 lighthouses/wands and rec. Vive Link Box for SteamVR Power Management unless you won’t mind having to constantly unplug/replug power to the lighthouses.

Power Management without Vive Link Box was a no-go on my side.

EDIT:

Disconnect Vive Link Box if in use.

Power on lighthouses

If using two 1.0 lighthouses, use the channel button in back of lighthouse & set to channel B and the other to channel C. (If Using only 1, set to channel A)