I built a new PC for VR on a budget (kind of)

I saw some people sharing their building / component choosing experience, some others asking for help. I thought I may as well add one. I should probably put it in general section, but it would probably go unnoticed there, but if @moderators feel that way, I would not object.

A week ago I built a completely new PC for VR, casual gaming, and some other amusements (linux VM). It was not meant to be the most expensive build, but the most balanced one, with taking into account price/performance ratio and also my personal (technical) views on the subject. Below I am going to give my reasoning for each part.

CPU - Ryzen 5 2600X
AMD or Intel was the most fundamental question. I have been building and using Intel system for the past 20 years and could not complain. But recently I was becoming fed up with Intel marketing and the lack of technical prowess so I started thinking about switching to AMD, probably year ago.

Ryzen 1xxx was not mature enough, but 2xxx seems already solid. There is still quite a big difference in gaming performance between basically any Intel high-end CPU (8700K, 9700K, 9900K) and AMD high-end (Ryzen 7 2700X), but for my casual gaming on 60Hz flat panel I knew I should be fine with either one, and even if I upgrade the monitor, I will still be fine, and would not mind running the game at “only” 90 FPS compared to 120 FPS.

At the high resolution, the difference gets smaller and at 4K+ everything become GPU limited anyway, and both Intel and AMD are neck to neck in the performance, so for VR (and especially Pimax) I did not expect very big difference either.