Creating a Pimax-DAS Adapter

I am 8k Backer / Lurker around 485s (not my exact value) and waiting eagerly for my Pimax emails and shipping confirmations…

I am also a Programmer, Designer and a Tinkerer… and impatient, liking taking a cracks at a problem, looking for solutions.

I had also previously designed a rudamentary Headgear mod for My Vive prior to waiting DAS (Deluxe Audio Strap) prices to dip.

Now I am in a similar situation where I want to use my DAS (the prices never dipped, thats 99 € just for the damn headgear and some slighly better than average audio, so I want to reuse it) on the Pimax, but

I dont want to glue or tape velcro onto the DAS, like shown with the “Frankenpimax” method that was show by @mixedrealityTV. Instead I like to make a more utiliterian solution which you can swap the same headgear between headsets, without having to mess around with cables much.

Update

First Prototype Release, With full Assembly Instructions. Use at your own risk

Historical post:

Already have some progress regarding the mounting joinery for the DAS and have it figured out the dimensions and mounting methods to get them working just fine:

Now I just need the other measurements and I can basically create an adapter for the Pimax

Taking account printing directions and toughness, this should be atleast as tough as the connection point it self, with the right printer tolerances (0.1 mm layer height ±50μm dimension tolerance) and materials. In this case my recommended material is PETG (not PET), which is a very good material for the subject, this works well with friction based joineries, due

A. Flexes more than ABS as a softer plastic.
B. Its a weaker than ABS, but its stronger than (regular, non enchanced) PLA, so probably avoids damaging to the headset over prolonged use.
C. Its much simpler to print than ABS as its less toxic to print

Update

Thanks to @UnholyBeardedOne I now have all the information to continue :slight_smile: