[Resolved] Multiple organ failure

Hello again,

OK, right now this feels like buying this headset was one of the worst ideas I have ever had, but I will give it a go to see if I can get any help in here before I return it to the stores and forget it ever existed.

First of all, my system:

Main board : ASUS z170-P (no onboard gfx)
CPU : Intel i5-6600K
RAM : 8 GB
GFX : Geforce GTX 970
Antivirus : Bitdefender Free

I should also mention that I am a VR noob, so maybe some of all this is my own fault.

So…

Thinking that the download page would provide you with the latest version of the software, I downloaded and installed Piplay (as admin, AV turned off), I did not get the splash screen as described in the quick start guide, Piplay just opened on he screen. For further help with installng, the quickstart guide then kindly refers to www.piplayvr.com/setup … which doesn’t exist.

Opening the settings, the first thing that happens is that Piplay tells me that there is a new version of it and needs an update to v. 3.0.0.85. (How about putting that version on the download site?) An update that it takes me 6 or 7 attempts to download before it finally works, as the grindingly slow download keeps crashing and makes Piplay shut down.

After connecting the headset, Piplay seems to recognise it, (blue light) but now the fun starts.

• The settings claim that I have V1.0.0.248 and need to update. Clicking update downloads version version v1.0.0.265 and installs it (?) but when I have clicked “confirm”, it still says that my installed version is V1.0.0.248 and that I need to update. Again, and again…

• Magnetic calibration does absolutely nothing. It shows me a picture (on the monitor) and tells me to tilt and turn the headset, but no matter how I wave it around, the calibration never ends.