Do you have a liaison with Valve?

If not, with your permission, I’d like to see if I can set that up so that development can more closely tie in with SteamVR.

@anon74848233 @Matthew.Xu @SweViver @PimaxUSA

8 Likes

Pimax does have a liaison, or close contact, with Valve and with recent PiTool versions there has been improvements made thanks to that. But do you have any specific feature request on your mind?

2 Likes

Do you have a specific feature or concept you are referring to? We regularly work with Valve.

3 Likes

I’m brand new to Pimax, so maybe this is something that already exists, but I can’t seem to find any way to do it. Base station power management: so that the base stations power up when steamvr runs and power down when it turns off. I have tried with a Vive Link Box as well but no luck. I read online that it was changed a long while back by Valve so that it is only available when an HTC Vive is plugged into the link box - it isn’t enough to just have the link box. I don’t know any more on the subject, but I would love to have power management back with the PImax.

2 Likes

I’ve solved that problem with remote-controlled power outlets. There are a number of different models, manufacturers, and price ranges. I use one for my (single) base station and another for my 8K. I’ve linked the one I bought below, which means I have spares, if I ever need one. I like it a lot and have had no issues with it; I’ve had it for ~3 months.

1 Like

Yes thats a very good point. Im not sure if its possible though, as the lighthouses are only communicating with the linkbox (through bluetooth), as far as I i know, and thats probably linked to the HTC Vive headset. Not sure if there is any way to create a bluetooth communication between the HMD and the lighthouses. I remember this has been discussed in the past already during m1/m2 beta days. I will check with the devs and follow up as soon as I get any feedback.